Religious Observances

The University of North Texas is required to accommodate student and employees’ sincerely held religious observances or practices, unless the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the work or business of the University. Federal law protects religious beliefs and non-beliefs, and this includes beliefs that are not associated with an organized religion. A reasonable religious accommodation is any adjustment to the work or educational environment that will allow the employee or student to practice their religion. This includes flexible scheduling, flexible deadlines, voluntary substitutions, modification of grooming requirements and other practices, policies or procedures.

Employees, please contact Human Resources to request religious accommodations. Supervisors, please contact EO if you have questions about implementing a religious accommodation or responding to a request for a religious accommodation. Faculty members and supervisors may not request proof from a student or employee that they observe the tenets of a religion.

A list of major religious observances is provided below. Please note that it is not an exhaustive list, and students or employees may request accommodations to observe religious holidays that are not on this list. If you would like to request for a religious or cultural observance to be added or edited, please submit the information through our secure form:

 

2021-22

Name of Holiday Religion Dates Days of the Week Learn More
* Holidays listed below begin at sundown on the previous day.
Muharram (Al Hijri - New Year) * Muslim 8/19/21 Thursday Read More
Rosh Hashanah * Jewish 9/7/21 - 9/8/21 Tuesday - Wednesday Read More
Yom Kippur * Jewish 9/16/21 Thursday Read More
Sukkot * Jewish 9/21/21 - 9/27/21 Tuesday - Monday Read More
Mabon/Autumnal Equinox Pagan, Wiccan 9/22/21 Tuesday - Wednesday Read More
Shemini Atzeret * Jewish 9/28/21 Tuesday Read More
Simchat Torah * Jewish 9/29/21 Wednesday Read More
Navaratri/Dussehra Hindu 10/7/21 - 10/15/21 Thursday - Friday Read More
Birth of Báb * Bahá’í 10/7/21 Sunday Read More
Mawlid al-Nabi (Birthday of Muhammad) * Muslim 10/19/21 Tuesday Read More
Samhain Pagan, Wiccan 10/31/21 Sunday Read More
Birth of Bahá’u’lláh * Bahá’í 11/7/21 Sunday Read More
Diwali Hindu 11/14/21 Thursday Read More
Hanukkah/Chanukah * Jewish 11/29/21 - 12/6/21 Monday - Monday Read More
Yule/Midwinter/Winter Solstice Pagan, Wiccan 12/21/21 - 1/01/22 Tuesday - Saturday Read More
Christmas Christian 12/25/21 Saturday Read More
Gantan-sai Shinto 1/01/22 Saturday Read More
Epiphany/Twelfth Night/Three Kings Day Christian 1/06/22 Thursday Read More
Christmas (Orthodox) Orthodox Christian 1/7/22 Friday Read More
Chinese New Year Confucian/Taoist/Buddhist 2/1/22 Tuesday Read More
Imbolc/Candlemas * Pagan, Wiccan 2/2/22 Wednesday Read More
Setsubun-sai Shinto 2/3/22 Thursday Read More
Magha Puja Day Buddhism 2/16/22 Sunday Read More
Maha Shivaratri Hindu 3/1/22 Tuesday Read More
Ash Wednesday/Beginning of Lent Christian 3/2/22 Wednesday Read More
Beginning of Lent (Clean Monday) Orthodox Christian 3/7/22 Monday Read More
Purim * Jewish 3/17/22 Thursday Read More
Holi Hindu 3/19/22 Saturday Read More
Ostara/Spring Equinox Pagan, Wiccan 3/20/22 Sunday Read More
Naw Rúz * Bahá’í 3/22/22 Tuesday Read More
Ramadan * Muslim 4/3/22 - 5/2/22 Sunday - Monday Read More
Palm Sunday Christian 4/10/22 Sunday Read More
Rama Navami Hindu 4/10/22 Sunday Read More
Vaisakhi Sikh 4/14/22 Thursday Read More
Maundy (or Holy) Thursday Christian 4/14/22 Thursday Read More
Good Friday Christian 4/15/22 Friday Read More
Passover/Pesach * Jewish 4/16/21 - 4/23/21 Saturday - Saturday Read More
Easter Christian 4/17/22 Sunday Read More
First Day of the Ridván Festival * Bahá’í 4/21/22 Thursday Read More
Holy Friday/Good Friday (Orthodox) Orthodox Christian 4/22/22 Friday Read More
Easter (Pascha) Orthodox Christian 4/24/22 Sunday Read More
Yom HaShoah * Jewish 4/28/22 Thursday Read More
Ninth Day of the Ridván Festival * Bahá’í 4/29/22 Friday Read More
Laylat al-Qadr * Muslim 4/29/22 Friday Read More
Beltane Pagan, Wiccan 5/01/22 Sunday Read More
Twelfth Day of the Ridván Festival * Bahá’í 5/2/22 Monday Read More
Eid al-Fitr * Muslim 5/3/22 Tuesday Read More
Buddha Day/Visakha Puja Buddhist 5/8/22 Sunday Read More
Declaration of the Báb Bahá’í 5/23/22 Monday Read More
Ascension of Bahá’u’lláh Bahá’í 5/29/22 Sunday Read More
Shavuot * Jewish 6/5/22 Sunday Read More
Martyrdom of the Báb Bahá’í 7/10/22 Sunday Read More